Wise Up To Waste


The North London Waste Authority was established in 1986 and is the statutory waste disposal authority for seven local authorities:

NLWA's primary function is to arrange for the transport and disposal of waste collected by these seven boroughs and to promote waste minimisation and recycling.

The Authority is made up of 14 councillors, two from each of the seven north London boroughs.  It is these 14 councillors that ultimately make decisions relating to the disposal of north London's waste.

The Authority meets five times a year but additional meetings can be held if necessary. An urgency committee has also been established to meet and consider appropriate business where necessary.  Waste disposal services are mostly delivered through a contract with LondonEnergy Ltd - a company which is wholly owned by NLWA.

NLWA does not employ any staff directly, but makes the following cross borough arrangements for support services:

London Borough of Camden:


Financial Adviser

Legal Adviser

NLWA staff

London Borough of Enfield

Environment Adviser